Water water every where… why didn’t I drink some first?

So I started off the day in Court arguing a motion for about 3 hours, then had to drive like a maniac to another hearing in a Courthouse about an hour away.  I know, bad planning not to have someone covering the second one, but I had four hours in between!! Who knew? Anyway, I made it, but had no time to stop and pick up another water.  By the time that hearing was over, it was WAAAAY past my lunch time. I had had no food since Shakeology six hours before.  More importantly, I had had no water since before my first hearing.

Well, I stopped at the BBQ restaurant near the Courthouse.  I had intended to get water to drink, but when she asked, I said Sweet Tea.  I don’t know why I did this, but I did.  I then ordered chicken and beans, which was actually ok.  After leaving, I stopped to get gas and thought I would grab a water. Did I just grab a water, no, I also grabbed a Snickers peanut butter.  (250 calories for four bites?? Really?? Where is Coach Crystal’s raised eyebrow when you need it?) My lunch should have satisfied my hunger, so why did I grab that candy bar?  I think it was because I was dehydrated.

Everyone knows that water is important, but did you know that it is scientifically proven that  “increased water consumption is an effective weight loss strategy.” Cool, huh?  If today happens again, I will be buying a water before lunch (or at least before that Snickers Bar!!)  My Fitness Pal says I still have a few calories for supper, so it is not a total loss.

Do you know where the first part of my title came from?  Extra credit: do you know the author?

8 comments on “Water water every where… why didn’t I drink some first?

  1. Janet says:

    Mh, didn’t know the “scientific” part. I am going to fill my bottle just now. Erm…no, don’t know the author. 😉

  2. dennah0pe says:

    I realized a couple of years ago that I was reaching for food-usually junk food, when I was tired (and probably needed to sleep instead) and also whenever I was thirsty. Now I make an effort to drink the water first and then see how I feel. Good insight. I loved the bit where you ordered the sweet tea…what we do out of habit is pretty scary 🙂

  3. drinkrunyoga says:

    WATER! Love this, yes I did know that. How is sweet tea even in your vocabulary with “coach crystal”? HAHA sounds like a lesson learned 🙂

    • I am pretty good about ordering water to drink at nicer restaurants or when Coach Crystal is around, but BBQ joints in the South just seem to assume you want Sweet Tea. Ordering water is somehow emasculating there… Men are silly, aren’t we?? But yes, lesson learned!! haha.

  4. Thank you for this reminder. I drink too much coffee/tea and find myself snacking during the day in an attempt to fill up the space where water should be!

    Out of curiosity, what’s your opinion on this question: can a person still lose weight and satisfy thirst when they add flavorings like lemon juice or fresh fruit slices to water?

    • I dont think light flavorings make a big difference one way or the other. I usually drink plain water, but some people want a little flavoring. The problem with me is getting enough. It really takes a lot of water when you are exercising and trying to lose weight, more than eight glasses a day.

Leave a Reply

