P90X vs. P90X2 – what is the difference?

You have to "Bring It" in both programs!!

A lot of people ask me the difference between P90X and P90X2.  I thought I would give you a run down of the differences I have noted:

– P90X2 is a continuation of p90x. While you don’t have to complete p90x first, it is recommended;

– while p90x is designed to make you lose weight and your muscles grow, P90X2 does those things, but its focus is to make you more athletic;

-P90X2’s yoga workout is only an hour instead of p90x’s 90 minutes;

– P90X2 has three phases, the first is foundation (i.e. core work), the second is strength, and the third is P.A.P.  P90X2’s strength phase is very similar to p90x;

– P90X2 gives you more control over the schedule, allowing you to move to the next phase when you feel your body is ready (it provides recommended ranges for when to move on);

Both programs are still based on the concept of muscle confusion. The theory is that as muscles get used to a workout, they adapt to make the workout less difficult causing plateaus.  Muscle confusion results when you change your workout before you reach such plateaus. While there are certainly detractors, and muscles (other than your mind) can’t actually be confused. They do adapt.  The p90x and P90X2 routines change the workouts before this adaptation can occur.

For more information and to watch a video on the workouts, click here.

5 comments on “P90X vs. P90X2 – what is the difference?

  1. stockdall says:

    Thanks for the extended explanation of the differences within the programs. One think I thought of when the first P90X was released was, what’s next? It seems that X2 addresses that question. I appreciate the clarification on what muscle confusion actually is. I hinted in a previous post that the name is somewhat misleading, but I do believe that the it works. (You can’t argue with results)

  2. terry4505 says:

    I’m about halfway through X2 and am absolutely loving it. I did X1 3 full times and was ready for some new challenges.

  3. Veronica says:

    Im thinking to buy P90x2. i never used P90X before.so this is gign to be my first time. should i buy P90X first ?
    please help

    • My wife, over at coachcrystalfitness.com is really the expert, but I would be glad to give you my opinion. P90X2 is designed, I think, for P90X graduates. It seems to concentrate on core muscles which means that you use less weight.

      I dont think P90X2 is harder than the first one, but you should know that you might get better results by doing p90x first….unless you are more into functional fitness than body transformation.

      That is my two cents… hope it helped and let me know if you have any additional questions.

  4. […] original article can be found on Coach Crystal’s Padawan. A lot of people ask me the difference between P90X and P90X2.  I thought I would give you a run […]

Leave a Reply

