Twinkie Diet??!!??

Have you guys seen this article? Readers’ Digest version… apparently a professor of human nutrition at Kansas State University spent ten weeks eating twinkies, little debbies or other sugary treats every three hours. He lost 27 pounds…

WHAT!!??!!

Details: He limited his calorie intake to less than 1800 per day.  He did eat vegetable at meals in front of his kids and take a multivitamin, but 2/3 of his calories came from “convenience store” foods. To quote the article:

 Before his Twinkie diet, he tried to eat a healthy diet that included whole grains, dietary fiber, berries and bananas, vegetables and occasional treats like pizza.

“There seems to be a disconnect between eating healthy and being healthy,” Haub said. “It may not be the same. I was eating healthier, but I wasn’t healthy. I was eating too much.”

He was 201 pounds and ended the experiment at 174.  His LDL dropped 20% while his HDL (good cholesterol) increased 20%.  He reduced his triglycerides by 39%.

Still, the professor was not convinced that cutting calories and eating “poorly” was actually healthy.  We can’t know the long-term effects of such a diet, including the cancer risk, but the data showed him becoming “healthier” in every way we know to measure health.

“I wish I could say the outcomes are unhealthy. I wish I could say it’s healthy. I’m not confident enough in doing that. That frustrates a lot of people. One side says it’s irresponsible. It is unhealthy, but the data doesn’t say that.”

 

Well, that is a GREAT finding professor. You have frustrated me, certainly. In other words, “I don’t know what this means, so don’t try this at home??”

 

What do you guys think?  Is he healthier because he lost weight or is he unhealthier because of the junk he was putting in his body?? I would love to know how he FELT as he ate that junk every day…  I could go for a Nutty Bar if it is health food!!! Hahaha

12 comments on “Twinkie Diet??!!??

  1. You can be thin and unhealthy. I think I read a stat once that said more thin people were at risk than people with extra weight (although I’m sure you can find a stat or study to say anything). Like the last post I wrote…I believe in everything in moderation. I don’t think you can completely leave out any of the food groups and maintain your best health. And really….what he was eating wasn’t even in a food group :p

  2. january179 says:

    oooh that is bad…..LOL …. of course you can lose weight that way but that can’t be good. I will get my nutrition professors opinion on it next semester.

  3. cruz2lose says:

    Could someone please do one more study on this for me….thanks! ; )

  4. getPHYT says:

    Wow. That’s pretty insane. I think he’s unhealthier. I just don’t understand how someone can eat such unhealthy things and miraculously produce healthy numbers.

    I agree with losingittheeasway. A balanced diet is the cornerstone of good health.

    I’d really appreciate it if you could check out my blog http://getphyt.org/

    getPHYT (Public Health for Youth & Teens), Exercise your Mind.

  5. I think that by losing the weight his numbers may improved because of that, but if he continues to eat that way I don’t think he will continue to see those numbers. Eventually the body will fight back. You could lose weight on a crappy diet and still see a drop improve your blood pressure and other things. That’s just my guess…what do I know? Lol.

  6. bgddyjim says:

    Girl Scout Cookies ROCK! Other than that, I’ll have a handful of candy here and there (a box of anything will last more than a week – except chewy sprees, those are TROUBLE! I have to warn my kids to keep their hands away from my mouth when I indulge in those) but other than that, I eat a pretty decent balanced diet. I don’t care who lost weight on a twinkie diet, that’s all kinds of crazy and I wouldn’t go near it… Besides, good food, prepared well, tastes better. The big problem with the processed sugars and the resulting blood sugar spikes is that they can lead to Type 2 Diabetes and the complications from that are so scary that I keep on the straight and narrow.

    Great post, and I love your reactions. Nicely put.

  7. soupgrrl says:

    This reminds me of the old quote from Woody Allen’s SLEEPER, when the guy who has been frozen wakes up in the future and the doctors say “Hadn’t they ever heard of hot fudge sundaes?”

Leave a Reply

