The Surmounting of Insanity

Not the disease… I am talking about the hellish cardio workout designed by Mr. Shaun T. I do not know if he is related to Mr. T of A-Team and Rocky III fame, but if so, he certainly has a more pleasant disposition while he is encouraging you to torture yourself.

Not this Mr. T.

Insanity is a 60 day home workout that is divided into 2 phases. During the first phase, the workouts are between 35 – 40 minutes. It is six days a week with one off day.   There is a recovery week followed by the second phase, in which the routines get about ten minutes longer. The only equipment needed is your body weight (see, I am already at a disadvantage) and willpower to keep showing up. See a video here.

As many of you know, this is not my first attempt at Insanity.  I remember dripping sweat and thinking this was the hardest thing ever… right before being informed that this was still the warm-up.  It is cardio intense, which is a weakness of mine. I don’t know why I gave up (around the recovery week). I am sure I thought I had a good excuse at the time.  Working on your weaknesses will only make you better, assuming health and fitness are the goal and not just bicep size …

And it is only 60 days…you can do anything for 60 days.  I am beginning my war of conquest against Mr. Shaun T on April 7.  (“I pity the fool”  wait, I think I got them mixed up again…)

Not this time, Mr. T!! "You ain't so bad, you ain't so bad, you ain't nothin'." ~Rocky Balboa

Anybody willing to go a couple of rounds against Mr. T with me??  I would love some company on this beat down!

34 comments on “The Surmounting of Insanity

  1. Good luck with Insanity! I saw the infomerical on TV, and I’m still too scared to try it. 🙂

  2. cruz2lose says:

    Um…nobody here but us chickens…bock, bock, bock.*pecks ground. Tell you what. You go for it, and when you survive, we will all join in. In the mean time, I am going to dig out my Celebrity Fitness Bootcamp dvd which is about as brutal as I can take it. Shaun T looks like a meanie.

  3. Amy Romero says:

    Excited for you! I also tried Insanity for a bit…and on day 1 remember clearly thinking, holy cow I cannot do this, I am juuust about done. And then he said “we’re almost done with the warm up”. I literally collapsed into the floor in disgust. I got better. It does happen. It’s a WONDERFUL way to challenge yourself!!!! Anyhow, stick with it, and make sure you share those before and after photos!! 🙂

  4. spinmethin says:

    Oh man… that looks painful. I am weak and I get so angry when I can’t do moves like in these videos or in a class. I can’t do a situp. I can’t do a real pushup. I get so frustrated! I know practice is how you get there, but I can’t even do one and I get so fed up. I have a crossfit groupon I’ve been procrastinating on for a while… I’m so nervous to try that! I honestly think I’m going to have to do a private session first so I feel comfortable.

  5. L says:

    Yeah I’m too much of a wuss to even think of trying this right now. Maybe if it was in a class format. I don’t do well with pushing myself when nobody’s watching.

  6. Good luck man!!.. If I can do it so can you..

  7. cindyhkim says:

    Best of luck with Insanity! We thought about doing it before we decided on P90X and I’m sooo glad we didn’t go into Insanity first… I think we might’ve died. I have weak knees so I’m hesitant to try it.

  8. Kammie says:

    I did one month of insanity when I was more fit a year ago. I couldn’t do any more. Now I’m not too big on cardio and my shins get way too sore for me to continue after a few days 😦

    • I am in better shape than I was when I bailed last time. I intend to follow Tony Horton’s advice, “Do your best and forget the rest!”

      • Kammie says:

        That is great advice indeed. I’m doing chalean extreme right now, a different beachbody workout. Definitely sticking with it 🙂

      • How do you like chalean extreme?? What is it like?

      • Kammie says:

        I love it! The workouts are ~40min, sometimes shorter, sometimes longer. It’s 2 rest days in a week, 3 weight training days (they focus on lifting SUPER slow rather than doing tons of reps), two cardio interval days + abs day and yoga day on the cardio days as well. It’s perfect for me cause of the length of videos. That way, if I want to work out later in the day again, do a fitness class or something, I am able to and I won’t feel like I’m too drained

      • Sounds pretty cool… Maybe after Insanity I will try Chalean….

  9. lauriejlong says:

    I would LOVE to do Insanity with you, but I can’t talk myself into spending money for it. If I could do it for free, I totally would! I need it!

  10. I really want to try this. I’m not very good with strength training, but cardio is more of my thing. You have to celebrate once you’re done. Have an Insanity party minus the cookies. Lol. Good luck!

  11. I gave insanity a try at the start of the year because i thought it would be what I was looking for, but after 3 weeks and not being strong enough to do some of the moves like the push ups and feeling like I didn’t have much leg power. I decided that I needed to research more to find what it was I needed and I needed heavy weight training! I can actually do push ups now easily, not the girly ones either lol. So when I start my cutting phase I might include the insanity workouts a couple times a week.

    • Nice job!! When I tried it last time, I could do the moves but couldnt do the cardio enough to even keep up. I am hoping the second time it the charm… You planning on trying Insanity again?

      • I’m not sure if I am going to try it as a program but when i start my cutting phase i want to use some of the workouts as my cardio. Don’t know if I will have the energy to do the whole program AND do weight training at the same time, AND be on fewer calories lol. I’m actually pretty good with Cardio, strength was my weakness.

  12. ilyasdeen says:

    How does the insanity workout work?

  13. I’m planning on doing 3 rounds of P90X before my sister’s wedding on October 27th. I’m wanting either round 2 or 3 to be an Insanity/P90X combo. Not sure if I’m going to be ready for it during Round 2 though. HAHA! I’m excited to follow you as you do it so I can know what to expect. LOL!

Leave a Reply

