Perserverance

Nothing in the world can take the place of persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts. Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent. The slogan, ‘press on’ has solved, and always will solve, the problems of the human race.
~Calvin Coolidge

I wrote about my workout yesterday, but forgot to mention the most important part. It almost didn’t happen.  I left at lunch for my usual workout location, the YMCA of Mountain Brook.  I was hungry but determined to push through.  I grabbed my bag and went in… only to see a sign that said:  “Men’s showers unavailable today, sorry for the inconvenience.”

Inconvenience?!?  Most definitely. I can’t sweat like I was planning and go back to the office without a shower.  It was a no go.  I got back to my car and thought about just bailing and going to get lunch.  Then I thought about the Warrior Dash. I thought about all the work I have been doing with INSANITY. I thought about why I wanted to get into shape.  I called Coach Crystal because I knew she had frequented a different Y. So she reminded me of where the Shades Valley Y was and I was off. 

They were doing construction on this Y and the entrance heading south was closed.  I was in the wrong lane to exit and had to drive almost a mile before being able to turn around.  This extra mile took me into road construction as well as past several places to eat. I kept my mind on my goal, got to the gym, and had a really great workout.  

It is these small decisions that make the difference in the end.

 Strength does not come from physical capacity. It comes from an indomitable will.
~Mahatma Gandhi

12 comments on “Perserverance

  1. Wow. You did have some obstacles! I’m so proud of you for getting there. Shelby

  2. oneanna65 says:

    Yes,you have to get going every day.

  3. Stealing Shade says:

    It’s great you leaving this post today, as it’s the first day I’m contemplating skipping a workout… thx for that extra push!

  4. Jen says:

    I’ve had those days too and I wish I could say that I was just as strong as you are, but nope. I totally caved in. Instead of the bathroom on being available, it would be the parking lot would be full or my favorite machine is taken up. *sigh* That’s for showing me that I should let those little things stop me.

  5. Perseverance is definitely important. There is a sign on the door of my gym that says, “Getting here is half the battle,” and that is so true! There have been so many timnes I was determined to get to the gym and life got in the way, or I just found some excuse when I was not as determined. We just have to keep with it! Thanks for sharing.

  6. Great post! I thought about your post as I aimlessly walked the aisles of a local grocery store trying to find something to eat for lunch. I badly wanted to reach for junk foods and a 20 oz coca-cola, but I passed and chose water and a salad with grilled chicken. I cannot let anything get in the way of my goals! Here’s to working out and eating right!!

Leave a Reply

