Weekends — the antithesis of weight loss

We have reached the weekend again.  For me, I have been putting back most of the weight I have lost during the week for the past several weekends.  This weekend is an out-of-town trip to Jackson,  Mississippi for the Warrior Dash. I know there will be eating out, and you get a free beer and turkey leg for finishing the Dash… to go along with your Viking helmet.  (I know, you are so jealous, aren’t you!!)

My goal will be to limit the damage.  I found the following tips on Men’s Fitness in an article by Elizabeth M. Ward, M.S., R.D:

“Saturday and Sunday backsliding can erase your fitness gains made during the week. Here’s how to party like a rock star and still feel fit on Monday.

IF YOU PLAN TO . . .. . . party:

* Pencil in at least one longer workout later in the week to counteract the extra weekend calories you’ll no doubt consume.

* Take a break from your typical routine to cross-train or, say, attend a boxing class. You’ll burn more fat as you put demands on different muscles. Take a swim instead of your typical stint on the elliptical machine; or play basketball or soccer. Maybe swap a short run for a longer one that includes sprints and hills.

* Try to start Saturday and Sunday with a healthy breakfast, even if you’re waking up later. It’ll rev up your metabolism. Successful weight control is consistently linked to breakfast-eating.

. . . chill at home:

* Jump on the scale on Saturday morning, and plan to do it again on Monday. Researchers say people who weigh themselves are better at weight control.

* Variety is the cornerstone of a healthy diet, but having too many options spells doom for persistent snackers. Restrict afternoon snacks to one healthy choice, such as almonds, popcorn, or pretzels. No refills!

* Avoid mindless eating while you commune with your DVR. Leave food and drinks in the kitchen. When food’s directly under your nose, you eat more.

. . . barhop:

* Head out with a full belly. Before hitting the bar, eat a meal with at least six ounces of meat, poultry, or fish and a cup or more of cooked vegetables. When you’re full you’re less likely to cave in to high-fat bar food.

* Steer clear of mixed drinks, which can pack upward of 500 calories per. Stick with a 150-calorie beer or glass of wine. Or at least opt for something made with a low-cal mixer, like diet soda or diet tonic.

* Budget. Set a limit on how much you’ll spend on drinks before the night starts. Then alternate alcoholic beverages with mineral water or club soda. You’ll drink less alcohol and maybe even come in under your goal.

* Get your rest. Sleep deprivation can wreak havoc on your metabolism and makes it difficult to avoid overeating, especially after a long night of drinking

. . . eat out:

* Order first. Set the tone for the meal by choosing a healthier entrèe.

* Don’t waste calories on mundane foods, like white rolls or baked potatoes. Save those calories for foods you don’t eat very often or never make at home.

* Drink with dinner, not before. A predinner drink lowers your resistance, making you much more likely to indulge on something you didn’t really want”

I will putting several of these to use this weekend. Good luck to all of you, I hope you all have a blast… and stay on your path!!

 FSQYXU6JJPPC

15 comments on “Weekends — the antithesis of weight loss

  1. Reed says:

    Those are really great tips. Thanks!

  2. great tips, thanks! havent updated my blog this weekend coz well, i started slipping saturday morning! 😦 uh ohhhhh! dying to see what today’s “binging” brought to my body.

  3. great tips! i had a bad start to my weekend as well, and im kinda ashamed to step on the scale… *gulp* hope to muster enough courage tomorrow morning!!!

  4. cindyhkim says:

    Thanks for the tips! Weekends are really tough for me and it’s so easy to start sliding back into unhealthy habits. I find what helps is to get up early (instead of sleeping in til noon) and do something productive – like grocery shopping for the week. I find that making this effort helps to set the tone of the day, so I don’t sit around watching tv all day.

  5. Laina says:

    Excellent list! Weekends definitely require an extra level of planning for weight management. 🙂 This is a nice, concise how-to.

  6. […] great reading, check it out: Weekends – the antithesis of weight loss. I will bookmark this and set a reminder in my calender to read it again on Friday. Maybe every […]

  7. m3lly78 says:

    Great tips Coach! I follow a few of them already; every Saturday is my “super Saturday session” where I burn 1000 calories in my workout so that I earn my treat meal!

  8. Dani Cee says:

    These are great tips for surviving the weekends that require “partying” and events you can’t say no to. Hope you had a blast at the warrior dash – I hear those are so much fun!

  9. M.Lee says:

    Great tips. Weekends are definitely a challenge.

  10. Siobhan says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, good luck with your trials to fitness! I myself am trying to get into a healthier lifestyle, it’s such a challenge and hopefully worth all the pain! I especially like your tips for barhopping…sometimes it seems impossible to both do all the social things and keep the weight off, I look forward to reading more, especially because I hope to post my own weight loss trials/tribulations soon.

Leave a Reply

