Consistency

Does anyone else have problem with consistency? I know I do.  Yesterday, I did INSANITY plyo cardio circuit and followed it by running a mile and a half.  Today, I completely missed my workout. I have excuses, but that is all they are… I could have done it, just did not want to.

I will do it tomorrow, but  Insanity is a 60 day course and extending it to 75 days will certainly limit its effectiveness.  What do you guys do to stay consistent?  HELP 🙂

20 comments on “Consistency

  1. mishalish says:

    I write everything down in a logbook. I find seeing the numbers keeps me motivated. I think to myself if I am lying in bed not wanting to go to the gym- how am I going to make up this time later…. and eventually it just seems easier to get out of bed and do it NOW.

  2. AlyssTG says:

    I completely understand wanting to be more consistent. But on the other hand, you have to give yourself a break too. There are just going to be days when you don’t want to workout and that’s OK. Do things at your own pace, you’ll get where you want to be in time. Be well!

  3. Laina says:

    When I don’t feel like working out and it’s just because I don’t wanna, I kinda trick myself to just start the process. I’ll tell myself to just pack the gym bag -all we’re doing is packing the bag, that’s easy, right? Then I’ll tell myself we’re just going to the gym, if I don’t wanna work out when I get there I’ll think about that then. Then I trick myself into changing into my gym clothes by telling myself I’ll just do an easy, quick, slacker workout, and I can stop anytime I want. Once I’m out there working out I invariably just do the whole damn workout because I’m there already and might as well.
    The silly thing is that I know I’m tricking myself but it works on me anyway. I fall for it every time.

  4. May be you should reward your self when you make it.

  5. grmble says:

    Missing one workout is not a “problem with consistency”. It happened, just move on. Don’t let your mind use it as an excuse to skip future workouts (“since i failed the program anyway, ….”)

    If it happens a lot I’d switch programs. The best program in the world is useless if I just can’t bring myself to do it.

  6. That’s exactly my problem too! I plan all my work outs on a Sunday and blog them so that at the end of the week, when I then blog what I’ve actually done, I have to ‘fess up if I’ve missed some. Heheh I like Laina’s trick though too!

  7. I had an easier time staying on top of my Insanity workouts because I liked checking the boxes off when I finished time. Plus, I did them first thing in the morning before anything else could come up.

  8. Stealing Shade says:

    I feel like consistency is a skill we all struggle to develop. Over time, with more use, and greater successes at overcoming our bad excuses for laziness, it gets easier and easier for consistency to be a part of us. I’m just getting decent at this after 34 years, half of which have been spent in and out of fitness programs of some kind. This is just my take on it, of course. Plus, insanity is CrAzY! I’m finishing P90X finally and still intimidated by it!!

  9. Hi Padawan, I know exactly what you mean. Consistency is the key but also one of the hardest habits to cultivate. There’s one tool that seems to work for me in those moments of angst and indecision; when everything else is crying out for attention or my mind is saying “I don’t want to do this” or my body is tired. I think, “Just show up.” That’s all I require of myself — to just show up and move. After about 10 minutes of moving, my mind and body get on board and it goes a little easir. I admire you for sticking with it for the long haul! Shelby in Montana.

  10. I was going to say something similar to what Laina said. I totally do the mind trick…”I’m just going to put on my workout clothes, that’s it.” Then I say, “ok, I’ll do just 10 minutes,” or “just one mile” (if I’m runing). But once I get started, I don’t want to stop.
    I wrote a post last week about starting being the hardest part of every workout and the thing I wrote that I always try to remind myself of is that I have NEVER regretted a workout I have done, but ALWAYS regret the workout that I skip.
    But, that said, sometimes your body just needs a break. And if you feel strongly that’s what’s going on, and it’s not just excuses, don’t beat yourself up. Listen to your body.

Leave a Reply

