A good run and a rainy beach trip…

A paralegal at work has been talking about the C25k (Couchto 5k) app that she is using. I decided that I could use just such an app to help me with increase my running distance.  I downloaded RunDouble to get from 5k to 10k.

This weekend, we traveled down to south Alabama to visit my parents Friday.  Saturday, I used my new app for the first time. After a five-minute warm up, you jogged for eight minutes then walked for one. After 44 minutes, I had covered over four miles.  I was pretty pleased (though my left knee was not excited about the last five minutes or so).  The app told you when to jog and when to walk and kept up with distance and pace based upon GPS. There was a constant drizzle, the temperature was nice, and south Alabama is pretty flat, so it was a pleasant jog.

Afterward, we took the kids to the beach.

Houston and Papa

Kenley, keeping her dress dry…

We chose the wettest day in years…so we ended up seeing Madagascar 3… (really funny, by the way). Afterward, there was a break in the weather long enough to play out in the sand.

Kenley and Nanny

They had fun, but we will be going back, so they can get more than their feet in the water… Hope you guys had a great weekend!!

Coach Crystal

9 comments on “A good run and a rainy beach trip…

  1. sherrylcook says:

    I live in Mobile, what a rainy weekend! Come back to the beach when the sun is shining!

  2. Sandra says:

    I cannot find the run double app. Is it for a iPod/iPad? Thanks, love the post.

  3. Laina says:

    Wow, that’s a pretty nifty app – it can tell whether you are walking or running? I’m…not sure I’m ready for that kind of accountability! 😀

  4. liljomarie says:

    I always wanted to run, it seems like a very peaceful moment. At the moment I’m walking and will increase as the day goes by. Does that app is only for running or can it be use for walkers like myself? haha

Leave a Reply

