INSANITY … literally

Well, she has done it. Coach Crystal has officially lost her mind.

Any NASCAR fan has heard of Talladega, one of the two restrictor plate races on the Circuit.  Restrictor plates are necessary to slow the car down because it is so fast. Anyway, in September, Talladega Speedway is hosting a half marathon to combat prostate cancer.  Coach Crystal wants to run it… not only that, she wants me to run it too.

It is a good cause and strikes close to home because my grandpa died of prostate cancer.  So I have agreed to do it. I have to complete it in 3.5 hours, so I should be ok even if I have to walk some of it.  You also run through areas that the public is generally not allowed to visit. You end at the finish line after running on the apron of the track.

(You can’t actually run on the track in the corners because they are banked — on a side note, I have driven a race car on that track… freaking awesome!! The corners sorta look like a wall rising up to you as you travel toward them at 160+, but while cars can handle them, ankles probably could not.)

So my INSANITY program has to be extended.  I am still doing it, but the last two weeks will probably take a month because I have to run three days a week.  Otherwise, I will never be ready in September. What do you guys think — is she insane or am I?

13 comments on “INSANITY … literally

  1. sherrylcook says:

    You are both insane! But it’s a good kind of insane…. I am insane! See you Saturday!

  2. Dani Cee says:

    Go team! My dad is a prostate cancer survivor – thanks for going a little insane for a great cause!!!

  3. Sandra says:

    Yes.
    And by the way, YEA! Good for you! 🙂

  4. Kelvin says:

    Relentless forward motion – make it your mantra.

  5. i spy God says:

    AWESOME!! That was on my bucket list… and checked it off last October!! I trained for the 1/2 Marathon, actually survived it, and apparently got my quota in for running because after the race I sat down and find myself still sitting today. hmmm…oh well.

    It was pretty awesome though — and I am fully stoked to have done it. PLUS, I have a super sweet medal, and totally have bragging rights and a 13.1 sticker on my car.

    Mmmm-hmmm. 🙂

    It seemed mile 6 was a wall for me…after I broke that barrier in training, everything came together.

    GREAT CAUSE!! Good luck!!

    What training program are you doing?? It amazed me how easy the training was with only 3 days of running (except the long runs on Saturdays…those were, um, a bit more challenging) but I was very well prepared come race day!!

  6. debbieroper says:

    I think you may have inspired me to set another goal! Now that my daughter’s wedding is over, I need some big motivation to keep up the diet and training. A half marathon would be the perfect thing, and YES, I really want one of those 13.1 stickers too! If you’re crazy, it’s a good kind of crazy!

  7. I think that’s an awesome goal. Something so motivating and exciting. Good luck!!!

  8. […] foot, I realized that I am just not going to be able to go from a non-runner to a half-marathoner by September 16.  Could I run 6 miles and walk the rest, probably, but that isn’t how I want to get my 13.1 […]

Leave a Reply

